(734) 641-6550

Wayne Police Department Awards

Posted On 10 Feb 2021
Comment: Off

The Wayne Police Department has an Awards Committee made up of the Chief of Police and a selection of patrol and command officers. The Awards Committee meets each year to review incidents from throughout the previous year and make selections about awards for department employees. The Awards Committee met in early 2020 and made the below selections regarding 2019 incidents. The Committee was hoping to have a larger, in person award ceremony in 2020, but that wasn’t in the cards. So, Chief Strong recognized all the award recipients on their individual shifts in January 2021.
The awards were for a variety of incidents, including safely de-escalating mental health emergencies, safely arresting dangerous and armed suspects without incident, recovering stolen property, excellent investigative work leading to the arrest of a sexual assault suspect, and much more.
Meritorious Service (one of the Wayne Police Department’s highest honors): Lt. Springer, Sgt. Amore, and Officer Colwell

Lifesaving Award – Officer Whalen

Commendation – Lt. Springer, Sgt. Hughes, Sgt. Amore, Sgt. Perez, Sgt. Boruta, Officer Jagotka, Officer Talmadge, Officer Bolton, Officer Colwell, Officer Whalen, Officer Williams

Chief’s Award – Sgt. Perez, Sgt. Boruta, Officer Arndt, Officer Bolton, Officer Colwell, Officer Priebe

About the Author

Related Posts